top of page

EXPEDITION OF BLUE


When I think of U.K artists that will last, A2 is always up there for me. He is a talented individual with an actual love and passion for the music that he is creating, so when I saw that he would be taking over Youtube Space in Kings Cross for an 'Expedition of Blue' I knew I had to be there.

We first got a 15 minute short film which consisted of A2 speaking over footage from shows and just everyday life. It was nice to finally hear him speak about what he is influenced by and get to see more of him. He spoke of growing up hearing rare groove, r&b, revival and reggae around the house which he says played a big part in him falling in love with music and wanting to make it.

In the short film A2 also spoke about making music for the feels and vibrations. He said he doesn't make music just because, he makes music so that people can feel something. Being an A2 fan I can vouch for that, his music always has meaning, you listen to his music and it takes you elsewhere, it truly radiates vibes. A2 has always been a private artist whereby all you have to really judge him on is his music, not his online presence and I love that. In a time where most artists are not really in love with their craft and are more in love with the fame side of things, it's nice to know that there are real ones left.

He then done a Q&A with Poet where he revealed he has been working on BLUE since Hennessy Thoughts and wanted the tape to be released in winter as he feels that is the time people can truly get the whole feel. A2 also told us that once BLUE is out the subjects he has touched on the tape, he probably won't touch on again. BLUE is the ending of one chapter and the beginning of another.

We also got to hear an unreleased track upcoming tape, which has gassed me to hear the whole thing. Of course I had to ask him 'when is BLUE coming?' because I have been waiting for a few years now and he told me that he is pushing for November, which is my birthday month so personally I have a good feeling this time he is for real.

Overall I had an amazing evening ( and 1 too many glasses of wine), A2 let all of us in which I doubt he will do again for a while so as a long time fan I am grateful to have witnessed that.

bottom of page