top of page

'Ladies Edition' a #TBTREVIEW

Artist: H-Town

Release Date: 28/10/97

Track list:

1. Woman's Anthem Intro

2. Don't Sleep on the Female

3. Toon Girl (Dino Conner)

4. Die for You

5. Married Man

6. Beggars Can't Be Choosey

7. Ways to Treat a Woman

8. Don't Hold Back the Rain

9. I Sleep U I Wear U

10. They Like It Slow

11. Special Kinda Fool

12. A Natural Woman

13. Shoot 'Em Up

14. Jezebel

15. Woman's World

16. Mindtaker

17. Visions in My Mind

18. Julie Rain

19. Woman's Anthem

I grew up hearing this album around the house. It is a timeless piece. It is an album I cannot wait to school my future children on. It is high up there in my ultimate top ten – I love. IT. SO MUCH!

Dino’s vocals and ability to reach not only the high notes you never knew you yearned to hear but also those low husky tones. An amazing artist, may he Rest In Peace. Shazam’s earthly and strong voice compliments his brothers so well, mixed with GI’s subtly sung adlibs is the reason why H Town takes the crown for my favourite male R&B group. This album raised awareness for many issues and spoke on many female topics. It was also dedicated to the late ex-wife to O.J Simpson, Nicole Brown Simpson (May she Rest In Peace) and all the woman of the world.

Natural Woman is one of my favourites off the album, for the fact that sometimes when I’m feeling down, the songs affirmations remind me why I’m just amazing for being me, a woman. They Like It Slow was A GREAT mix of nonchalant R&B as well as posessing the ability to be radio ready which I believe a lot of mainstream R&B songs fail to do. Woman’s Anthem was the final track another ultimate favourite from the album. What a lovely way to the end the album, an anthem for us ladies, an apology letter even, a song where you can listen to as a woman and feel like a delicate flower.

The album also was also a totally different agenda to their previous album Beggin’ After Dark (A great album also!!) released in 1994 and I believe must have been a total breath of fresh air for woman of that decade to be sung about in such a loving way.

So if you haven't heard this album before, pleasee do. Let your ears take in greatness.

bottom of page