top of page

TAPES TO NEVER BE FORGOTTEN

We are two months into the new year and I am sat here thinking about all the talent  the U.K music scene has to offer. It has also got me thinking about the amount of classic tapes we have within the scene already.

The U.K rap scene has so many talented artists, some have been dropping tapes and bangers on us for years. I have compiled a list of the tapes I believe should never be forgotten from this genre, it was VERY hard and some tapes just missed out in my selection process (These are not in order).

Now, you may disagree with my choices. Please feel free to comment any you feel have been missed out. I will be dropping more 'TAPES TO NEVER BE FORGOTTEN' on other genres so do check back.

1. HOLLOW MEETS BLADE Artist: Blade Brown and Giggs 

Release Date: 17/03/2009 

This link up was HUGE. This tape is an early reminder of the lyrical ability that both rappers possess. They were able to bring their own sounds to the tape, both on solo tracks and on the joint ones with one another. My favourite tracks off the tape have to be 'Sink A Boat' - When Giggs said 'Mummy knows I ain't an angel, she knows there ain't a halo on my head' I know everyone felt that Mmm. He really did spin the track. You know when have to reload the track because the verse is too good. I also would have to say 'Sorry To The Fiends' is also another fav, great beat selection and as always Blade knew how to paint a picture.

2. UPPER CLAPTON DREAM Artist: Rimzee 

Release Date: 24/09/2012

This was the 1st official mixtape from Rimzee and boy did he deliver. It was a great beat selection and Rimzee was able to explore different flows and styles.

3. WRETCHROSPECTIVE

Artist: Wretch 32. 

Release Date: 2008

Wretch Top 5 and he's not 5. Easy. This was his debut album and featured the timeless track 'Ina Da Ghetto. I have been listening to Wretch since before then until now and hearing him mature as a person, through his topic choices, his views. Hearing him explore new sounds that not many of us would have expected from him and make it work, sheer talent. The way he speaks on sensitive topics and raisees awareness for issues is applaudable. It has been a fulfilling experience as a long term fan.

4. (.1& .2) BAGS AND BOXES

Artist: Blade Brown

Release Date:2010/2012/2014

I write Bags and Boxes and I mean the trilogy. For me the order probably goes 1>2>3>. But it's hard because BXB3 intro alone makes me wanna push it to number 2. But as a whole piece Part 1 will always be my favourite tape. Banger on banger, tale on tale, rhyme on rhyme, Blade has been delivering.

But *cough* I'm going to need to see a tape from him in 2018, I've BEEN waiting.

5. WALK IN DA PARK

Artist: Giggs

Release Date: 04/08/2008

Timeless. I don't even have to say a lot. I was in secondary school bumping this on repeat. It was just a well rounded album, Giggs gave us flows, bars and just so much greeze.

6. TRAINING DAY

Artist: Potter Payper

Release Date: 09/07/2013

This was Potter's first mixtape and he delivered nothing but FIRE. 'Purple Rain' was and is such a banger, my favourite track off the tape. If you didn't become a long term fan of Potter's after listening to this tape, did you really listen to the tape?  

7. RIGHT AND WRONG 

Artist: Reekz Mb

Release Date: 19/08/2016

Reekz was able to paint a vivid picture of life through his eyes on this tape. When this tape dropped you couldn't play All I Wanted or War Spelt Backwards without me and the girls giving you a full on performance. Also if you have listened to the tape, have you managed to perfect the adlibs yet? I am still trying LOL.

8. MMP1

Artist: J Spades

Release Date: 26/04/2012

When this tape dropped Spades was really killing the game. You couldn't go anywhere without hearing someone play something off that tape. MMP2 was a great follow up tape.

9. FROM CHURCH ROAD TO HOLLYWOOD

Artist: Nines

Release Date: 14/10/2012

What a timeless tape. Nines really delivered, this was the tape that made me a fan. I don't even think I need to say much.

10. HENNESSY THOUGHTS

Artist: A2

Release Date: 05/11/2012

Top 3 and he's not 3. This tape was FIRE. Picking my favourite tape of A2's is way too hard. So I am going to include them all here Faded Photographs E.P, More Sleep EP, Once Too Many EP, VII EP, VII: PART TWO EP. 


bottom of page