top of page

I MISS TREY.

It's 2009, I am 13 years old and totally in love with Trey Songz. At a time where I had no real understanding of heartbreak I was in my feelings and singing along like I had. 

Trey debuted in 2005 with 'I Gotta Make It' a HIT R&B album with the timeless banger 'Just Gotta Make It'. There is no way you haven't heard this song. It also had one of my favourites of Trey, 'Kinda Lovin'. A song we got to really hear Treys vocal abilities on. 

It's now 2009 and 'Ready' has dropped. The cainroles are gone and Trey Songz did not come to play. This album was banger upon banger. 'Neighbours Know My Name', 'I Invented Sex' and 'Say Ahh' are just a couple to name. If you didn't have 'Say Ahh' on your blackberry smartphone I am peering at you over some shades. Til' this day I still listen to 'Does He Do It' on a regular. I was even just listening to the song and it sparked this post. 

We then got 'Anticipation' the same year. 'Passion, Pain and Pleasure' in 2010 and 'Chapter V'.  'Trigga' dropped in 2014 and although it had a few bangers it just didn't feel the same. 

As a long term fan I am used to Trey's albums telling a story or following a pattern, with the odd club banger thrown in. However I felt 'Trigga' had many throwaway songs (This is only my opinion). 

So I ask now, sitting here listening to his new music, with a bewildered face - What Happened to Trey? I miss vocal massive, slow jam making, passionate Trey.

Trey had his own sound, with distinctive riffs and the ability to make music with so much meaning, whether that be about love, or about heartbreak or just life. I now feel the music doesn't have this variety. The new music doesn't have the same range. 

However, I will try listen to his new album again, because maybe I am being too critical and need to take it in as if I am a fresh listener. 

Yet, even if I do not like it I will remain appreciative and in love with 2005-2012 Trey Songz. 


bottom of page